from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

A Visual Feast

4 Comments

Last fall I signed up for a week-long Artist’s Retreat in Puerto Vallarata. It was one of those rare (very rare, actually) decisions where I put myself first and escaped from work and home and the everyday. Arriving on a Sunday, with my largest bag stuffed with art supplies, I found myself at the Hacienda Mosaico searching for a way in. Eventually, I realized that the hanger wire poking through the stucco wall was a door bell, connected to an internal bell that let those inside my new haven know that I had arrived.

Once inside, the stucco’d walls encased an amazing world of tropical trees and flowers, a charming blue pool and several casitas. We had a wonderful chef who served us amazing breakfasts at 9 a.m. and late lunches at 2 p.m. which I usually followed with a swim to cool off. We eventually went out on the town between 8 and 9 p.m. for a bite or celebratory dinner on the beach, our toes wiggling in the cool sand surrounded by tiki torches. The hacienda is filled with mosaic and brightly colored art.

Our week included art classes and free creative time where we share ideas with each other and experimented with color, texture and products. A trip into town to a little art supply store and to purchase milagros, Spanish charms, and sundresses. Another trip one evening for the weekly Art Walk, a musical event in front of the Cathedral, and to watch the sun set. Here’s what I completed during my little reality escape:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “A Visual Feast

  1. What a lovely, idyllic place! No wonder you were inspired, Carla.

  2. Beautiful pieces Carla!

  3. Inspiring place to be! I love the colors and texture of your art Carla. What a wonderful break and rejuvenating experience.

  4. Absolutely wonderful ! I am color deprived right now as I am repainting with the thought of selling, Neutral, neutral, neutral, boring, boring, boring, I don’t know how people live wihtout color. Carla you have done a fantastic job surrounding yourself with the best and the brightest.

Leave a Reply

