from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

Glitter Art

Leave a comment

I was inspired to use an abundance of glitter on a canvas and, once completed, I love how it looks!

Constellations

Marah Johnson, Creative Imaginations co-founder, once told me that her children know when she is having a bad day, so they ask her, “Have you glittered anything today, Mom?” I echo that sentiment. I am unwittingly happy when I use glitter in my art. Recently, the blog, Glitter and Unicorns, particularly this post, inspired me to use glitter more fully on canvas! Glitter Art.

I will say that I am not a well-versed photographer and photographing glitter or other glittery items is difficult to say the least. The pink on this piece is actually an amazing light orchid purple color. I am not sure why I take pictures that don’t reveal the true color, particularly since my entire blog is dedicated to that one thing: color!

I would also love someone to explain to me why the silver tinsel glitter surrounding the blue dew drops looks gold in my photo. I am sure this all has to do with the lighting. Would natural, maybe outdoor, lighting prevent this from happening and show the true purple and silver tones? I’d love to hear your suggestions.

Here’s another, larger, version of Constellations. I call this 18×24″ canvas “Fireworks Finale” because it reminds me of the amazing fireworks display we saw on the 4th of July at the Del Mar Fairgrounds. I would say this show was second only to the La Jolla Cove presents… there is nothing, and I mean absolutely nothing, as magnificient as seeing fireworks explode right above your head at the sea as you lay on your back on a blanket staring transfixed. You even feel the booms vibrating through the ground beneath you. It is a full sensory experience I highly recommend.

Fireworks Finale

Leave a Reply

