from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

Starve a Cold, Craft for a Fever?

Leave a comment

After hoping and praying that the infamous 2+week cold won’t hit me, it has. The usual OTC products make me sick to my stomach so I’ve been using herbals and lots of tea hoping to break a record and not have my cold last as long as everyone else’s. Meanwhile, I’m watching movies on HBO (Battleship just finished and now I’m starting The Lucky One) and eating Nigella Lawson’s Noodle Soup for Needy People with chicken and udon noodles, yum and so soothing.

Picture of Noodle Soup for Needy People Recipe

When the mood moves me, I’ve been working on creating shadowboxes. C’est La Vie is inspired by the Bo Bunny line of the same name and Leaky Shed Studio dress form, Eiffel Tower, and script word “Paris” chipboard pieces highlighted with embossing powder. I added “bloomers” on the top and bottom edge; they were lavender so I sprayed them with Be Mine! Glimmer Mist from Tattered Angels to make them a bit more pink to go with the color theme. And, I added my usual scrabble tiles for the title:

C'est La Vie

C’est La Vie

And my ode to Game Night, inspired by Leaky Shed Studio‘s chess pieces chipboard accented with glossy white and shiny black embossing powder. Both shadowboxes are painted and then covered with strips of painted canvas, reminiscent of the ones my friend Vicky and I made for each other when we were young.

Game Lover - an Ode to Game Night!

Game Lover – an Ode to Game Night!

I love to re-purpose, so here is an example of what used to be an Altoids tin:

Leave a Reply

