from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

More Creating while on Vacation from Work

Leave a comment

I frequently refer to myself as a visual person, but this quote describes me also:

“I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them.” – Anne Rice

Here are a couple of the coffee filter wreaths I created as a participant in the 2012 Artsy Ornament Workshop on ScarletLime.com – this project is the idea of Jamie Soucy. It is simple, yet lovely. The first was made with red ink polka dots on bleached coffee filters; after it was assembled I used a white frost Smooch mist on the entire wreath for added shine.

2013-01-02 19.38.11

The second one took longer because I used Glimmer Mist and Smooch sprays to die the coffee filters and then they had to dry. Jamie uses Rite dye and then dries the filters in her clothes dryer, but I was worried about not being able to remove the color from inside the dryer, so I chose to use some of the numerous supply of Glimmer Mist sprays I have on hand. The colors I used were Pomegrante, Black Cherry, Popsicle, and Fully Purple. I added Turquoise, True Blue and Aqua Stickles glitter glue for accents. Next time, I will most likely try Jamie’s idea of dipping each folded coffee filter into Mod Podge and then glitter to get even glitter coverage, but I image there is a bit of drying time involved with that process, also, and more space than I actually have available!

2013-01-03 09.07.52

The next two look like this:

2013-01-05 17.46.46This was was made with unbleached coffee filters.

2013-01-06 13.41.11I used cone shaped coffee filters for this final wreath in blues and greens.

 

Leave a Reply

