from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

Still Life 3-D

Leave a comment

Still Life Flowers in Vase

Still Life Flowers in Vase

My neighbor and I wondered while this mirror sat atop our mail boxes for a couple of days when we finally decided that it was left as trash; so, being the re-purposer that I have become, I took it to make into a “painting.” We realized it was very heavy and that it was not simply a framed mirror but the mirrored front to a medicine cabinet. My friend doubted that I could convert it into “art,” but I had this vision of a still life vase of flowers, much like the beach scene created on an old bulletin board (see previous post titled “Changing Directions”) and made it come alive in 3-D form.

To create this mixed media canvas, I sprayed it all with cool toned spray paint, green and blue, and then covered that with silver spray paint. Then, I painted flowers on using acrylic paint and foam stamps, brushes and even my fingers. I glued flowers from the Michaels fall floral sale and worked on the vase. I used the inside of a cardboard protector sheet from a scrapbook package, ripped off the top layer of cardboard, cut and colored it with glimmer mist spray and gold acrylic paint. I molded the vase around large bubble wrap to add dimension and glued it on over the floral stems. I added gold punchinello (sequin waste) cut in strips and a gold-bronze ribbon and bow.

I have to say that the final project is much better than I had hoped and imagined. Now I’m focusing on what’s next?

Leave a Reply

