from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

A re-purposer walks into a bar….

Leave a comment

You’ve probably all have heard the jokes that start out with, “A _____ (fill in the blank) walks into a bar…” well, our local Trader Joe’s has a line of cereal bars with the same name and this month’s special flavor is wonderful… it’s “a pumpkin walks into a bar.” So, I bought every box on the shelf to take in to the office tomorrow and share with my co-workers.

As an inspired re-purposer, I walk into a bar for a wine tasting and discreetly ask them to save the wine corks for me as I use them in my art. I wish that as a re-purposer, I could walk into a bar and ask them to save the empty bottles for me, but it just doesn’t work that way, so I have been peeling labels off, washing out and keeping glass bottles, mostly Sauv Blanc bottles 🙂  and this weekend I re-purposed them with supplies I had around the house: scrapbook paper, mod podge, mica mixed with white glitter and bakers twine. I did stop by Michaels and picked up large faux gerber daisies, the fall ones are on sale right now for $0.39 each – awesome price. I tore the paper, decided on the color theme based on the glass color and the gerber daisy I selected and 30 minutes later my bottles were drying. After they were done (the smaller ones were glass lemonade bottles), I wrapped color-coordinated bakers twine around them in a variety of methods and here they are:

 

Leave a Reply

