from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

Eclectic blog

Leave a comment

At least six color-filled paper towels adhered to an 18×24″ canvas as the basis for this painting’s background.

Today I changed the theme and title for my blog from simply “powering my soul” to “from the crayon box to powering my soul.” I made this change, after much deliberation, because my art is all about color, color chaos. I have always described myself as a visual person, even my love of murder mysteries on audio is an extension of this because every fictional character I read about comes to life visually in my mind as I listen.

With my art, I explore my favorite bright, jewel-toned colors as well as stretch outside the norm and try unexpected colors… I actually force myself to work with pastels as I am loud and think my use of color reflects that. I also updated my About Me page to include the following favorite quote:

“Color possesses me. I don’t have to pursue it. It will possess me always. I know it. That is the meaning of this happy hour: Color and I are one. I am a painter.” –  Paul Klee, Swiss artist

As I work with acrylic paint, acrylic liquid inks, watercolor crayons, watercolor markers, color spray mists, et. al. I go through a lot of paper towels wiping off, cleaning up and simply absorbing excess color. I used these paper towels as the background for a canvas based on Klee’s quote. Above is how the painting started and below is the completed piece.

My “Color Possesses Me” finished piece, to this day the most textured mixed media painting I’ve created.

Leave a Reply

