from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

On my 4th Day of Vacation…. celebrating a first birthday

Leave a comment

Talk about powering my soul…. today our two rescue kittens, Tippy and Leah, turn one year old. They were saved by Judi and Rescue House who coordinates pet adoptions with Petco. Our girls were at the Mira Mesa Petco store being cared for by Becky, store associates, and a crew of other volunteers.

Tippy (black face with white tipped tail) and Leah (white face)

Tippy and Leah are often found cuddling together or wrassling. They chase each other all over the house, bat at my toes in the morning when they hang off the edge of the bed, and love to chew on plastic (I think it’s the noise they enjoy).

We have a 14-year old black and white tuxedo (long hair) male, named Rafe. He had a brother, Jax, who had kidney failure requiring daily “watering” (IV fluids) for a couple of years.  Jax passed a year ago now. Rafe tolerates Tippy but routinely hisses at Leah. Leah takes it all in stride and appears un-phased. I’m just waiting for the day that Leah gets tired of it and swats at Rafe (who is de-clawed).

Tippy has gotten fat since we brought her home in February! She has a big belly and loves to have it scratched. Leah is our adventurer…. she loves to climb on everything, everywhere. If we aren’t watching and leave  the door into the garage open, she goes exploring however she has not yet tried to get out of the garage altogether. Like true siblings, Tippy and Leah have that love-me-now-leave-me-alone type relationship.

Leah is a bit skittish but loves to cuddle in the early morning hours. She hops up on my bed and head-butts me to wake me up. Then she starts purring so loudly and she and I touch noses…. I call them *kisses*. Then she likes to curl up next to my thigh and nap. Tippy’s meow is squeaky-chirpy and I wonder whether it will ever evolve into a true meow.

Neither of the girls likes to be held. Clipping claws continues to be challenge with both – we usually get 2-3 clipped at a time and come back later to finish.

Birthday girls love the new purple deep shag bath contour rug

As you can see from this photo, they love the new bath contour rug I bought this week at Kohl’s and  were caught napping on it today. Many thanks to those who rescue and take such good care of little ones like our girls and allowing us to bring them into our home.

Go adopt a pet today!

Leave a Reply

