from crayon box to powering my soul… color defines me

A fine WordPress.com site

On my 3rd Day of Vacation

Leave a comment

A friend and I escaped to San Juan Capistrano today.
We had an unhurried lunch at L’Hondrielle before wandering in to the Basilica Chapel while the organist was prepping for an upcoming mass. It was awe-inspiring and so very peaceful. Then we toured the Mission, learning a bit of early California history and about 8 varieties of swallows.

The lily pond with koi was lovely.

image

image

My grandparents, on my mother’s side, were married at the Mission. My grandmother painted with oils and captured the view of the arches

image

which used to be stucco covered and whitewashed but have been restored to the original brick. The bells are old but rang clear at noon. History and tradition has a way of grounding us like not much else.

Leave a Reply

